Jbonamassa Guitar Safari-1

Greetings, fellow guitar geeks nerds, and mere hobbyists.

I thought I would take a moment to introduce myself. My name is Joe Bonamassa, and I’m not the guy you see on PBS/Palladia dancing around in a Hugo Boss suit pretending to be Eric Clapton. I am one of you- a gear fanatic, collector, geek, dateless on prom night, and a seeker/hoarder of all things guitar Americana made before 1965. So now that we have that out of the way, let’s proceed.

This column centers on a pair of blonde 1963 Fender Stratocasters bought on the same weekend. To understand the significance of this find we must travel back in time to 1996, when a young, gig-free, cash-poor blues boy was seeking a career as a solo artist playing blues rock from his parents’ home in upstate New York. At the time I owned seven guitars- two of which were 1963 Fender Stratocasters. (I know, I know- poor me. Bear in mind that I am the son of a guitar dealer.) One of the Stratocasters was finished in stock sunburst, and the other in the uber-coveted blonde. All blonde Stratocasters of that era were made using an ash body, as opposed to alder for all other colors, including Olympic White. (Note to the anoraks out there: A few mahogany, and maybe korina bodies do exist, so don’t write the editor.) I always called mine “Al” after Al Jardine of the Beach Boys, who played one and made it so cool.

Source: Best Guitarist in the World

Leave a Reply

